Heritage

The historic home of The King’s Troop and The
Royal Horse Artillery for over 100 years.

Long before it became St John’s Wood Square, this site witnessed centuries of transformation — from forest and farmland to royal cavalry parades. Today, that rich heritage is both honoured and reimagined for modern London living, exemplified by the considered restoration of the Grade II-listed Riding School, first built in 1825 and now the centre of residential life.

1323

Origins of St. John’s Wood

The Manor of Lileston, part of the Forest of Middlesex, is granted to the Order of Knights of the Hospital of Saint John of Jerusalem. This establishes the historic naming of St. John’s Wood.

1804

Military Use Begins

Hiring of the St. John’s Wood Farm as accommodation for the Corps of Gunner Drivers and their horses marks the start of continuous military use of the site.

1812

First Barracks Built

The ‘New Artillery Barracks’ is built to house the London Brigade of Artillery.

1822

Arrival of the Cavalry

The Cavalry Riding Establishment occupies the barracks.

1825

Riding School Constructed

The now Grade II-listed Riding School is built. The only original building still standing today, it was the largest in the London area.

1835

Enter the Foot Guards

The Guards Recruit Depot arrives and a new barracks is constructed, lasting with some additions until 1970. Later, the Recruit Depot is replaced by various detachments of Foot Guards and other infantry.

1840

The Parade Ground

A formal parade ground is established south of the Riding School.

1862

Residential Life

Queen’s Terrace is constructed to the northwest, with the Knights of St. John public house opening at its southern end until 1993.

1880

The Royal Horse Artillery

The first of a long line of Royal Horse Artillery batteries are stationed in the St. John’s Wood Barracks. With short breaks for war and reconstruction, the Royal Horse Artillery occupy the barracks for over 100 years.

1946

The Riding Troop

Post-war, on the express wishes of King George VI, The Riding Troop Royal Horse Artillery is formed and occupies St. John’s Wood barracks.

1947

The King’s Troop

King George VI visits the Riding Troop and renames it as his own, ‘The King’s Troop Royal Horse Artillery’.

1962-2011

Royal Visits

Members of the Royal Family, including Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother, Queen Elizabeth II, Prince Philip, the Prince and Princess of Wales and The Princess Royal visit the barracks on 11 separate occasions.

2011

A new chapter

With the expiry of the Ministry of Defence lease imminent, the Eyre Estate gain planning consent for the redevelopment of the land and put the estate up for sale.

2012

Final Military Salute

On 6th February 2012, The King’s Troop Royal Horse Artillery rides out of the barracks for the last time to fire a Royal Salute in Hyde Park to mark the anniversary of Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the throne.

2020

Historic Survey

MOLA, in partnership with Westminster and Historic England, completes a full site history survey.

2026

St John’s Wood Square

Honouring centuries of heritage with a new chapter, St John’s Wood Square provides a rare opportunity to live within one of London’s most beautiful and historic residential areas.